Perspective: Pt 2 By Andrea Olson

What if we took our eyes off of ourselves and surrendered the attitudes of our hearts over to a loving Father in order to see the truth of the season we are in. If I can surrender my day, my family, my job, I think I can also surrender my ministry…

 How do we do this? How do we surrender our ministries to open ourselves up to the bigger picture, the greater purpose? What does it look like?

I think it looks different for everyone, that act of surrendering. We each hold to unique aspects of our ministries.

What are you afraid of losing?

For me, it was the picture of what I thought “my” music ministry was supposed to look like. I held tightly to the idea, the direction I wanted, the goal I envisioned. The worst part of this tight-fisted living is that it fosters fear. I was scared that if I let go of what ministry was supposed to look like, I may never get it back. What if I lost it all together? What if I lose my vision, everything I’ve worked for?

I had to surrender the fear and my goals over to the Lord.

I came to a point, years ago, when God carefully opened my hand and held my standards in His. He does this so deftly. So perfectly. He will never punish you for giving over your humanity to Him. There is power in the surrender. My dreams became His to mold, to grow, and to use. I got down on my knees and expressed that if I never lead worship again, I would be okay. If He called me out of ministry I would do it. I needed to let it go.

This ministry was never “mine”, nor was it supposed to be. My intentions were good. The calling was true. However, the goal was more mine than His. I had to empty myself in order for Him to make His dreams mine.

“See, I am doing a new thing!

    Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?”

Isaiah 43:19

When we surrender our ministries to our Father, when we cast out the fear and doubt of leading and serving through faith, then, we begin to see what He is doing, what He can do, what He will do.

And after all, we can trust Him. He is able to do immeasurably, abundantly beyond anything we could ask for or imagine according to HIS power that works through us…for His glory.

Be encouraged friends, God is for you!

Sincerely,

Andrea

Leave a comment